Dalhousie University


Deaprtment of

The Division of Thoracic Surgery at Dalhousie University is based at the Queen Elizabeth II Health Sciences Center.  The Division serves the province of Nova Scotia and acts as a tertiary referral center for the provinces of New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland. All thoracic surgical procedures except lung transplantation are performed by the members of the Division.  

The thoracic surgeons perform approximately one thousand surgical cases per year, the majority at the Victoria General site.   All Division members carry fulltime appointments at Dalhousie Medical School and are actively involved in th education and training of medical students and residents. In addition, the Division offers a non-accredited thoracic surgery fellowship with focus on all apsects of thoracic oncology, foregut surgery and minimally invasive thoracic procedures.



Dalhousie University Faculty of Medicine